类别
作者 Corrine Lin
更新日期 December 09, 2022

在甫落幕的联合国气候峰会COP 27上,将升温幅度限制在1.5度内应采取的行动及气候资金仍是今年关键话题。因应气候变迁带来的产业转型,将伴随新一轮的低碳资产配置和巨大投资,火热的再生能源需求推动光伏制造链持续大规模扩产。然而,尽管各大光伏展会已陆续出现标榜低碳足迹的组件展品,但实际上多数企业在大幅扩产的过程中尚未针对低碳转型议题实施评估及配套措施。

在需求方面,乌俄战争造成的传统能源价格飙涨加快了欧盟对再生能源的布局,提高欧盟在光伏需求的比重。同时,欧盟境内实施的碳排放规范正愈来愈严格,并且计划于2023年开始试行碳边境调整机制(CBAM)、2027年正式课征。尽管CBAM初期规划着重在高碳排产业,但预期后续会依照产业碳排量多寡扩大涵盖范围,光伏产业由于耗电量高,势必位列其中,目前已有越来越多地区祭出相关的规定。例如,法国在公共招标案上会对组件的碳排放进行要求,碳足迹的最低标准为750 kg CO₂/kW且须有证明,若无法符合则无法参与公共采购招标。另外,法国能源管理委员会(CRE)也针对100 - 500kW的屋顶型项目祭出相关税令,要求使用低碳足迹的组件,CRE4标准的认证为小于550 kg CO₂/kW。而在韩国,政府也推出碳认证制度,将组件的碳排放分为三等级,低碳组件可获得优先补贴,且在招标的评分也会较高,相信之后亚洲市场也将有相关需求爬升。

整体而言,欧盟在全球光伏需求的高占比拉大CBAM实施的影响,光伏企业必须关注碳税课征造成企业优势重新分配。接下来的课题将是在现有的庞大产能及持续投入的资本支出中何以接轨低碳趋势,抢滩低碳竞争。

全球光伏需求比重

Source: InfoLink Consulting


光伏制造链减碳路径

从光伏组件的碳排角度出发,仅管基于不同的测算条件与产品标准,实际数值可能会有不小落差,但目前测算硅料为组件中最大的排放源,占了将近一半的比例,其次是同为高电耗的拉晶环节,其余则是玻璃、EVA等组件辅材为大宗。

光伏组件碳排量分布
Source: InfoLink Consulting

因此,若想降低光伏组件碳排,目前主要有两项路径:第一是改善材料的使用:观察目前公开资料,颗粒硅相比棒状硅在碳排上更有优势,企业或可考虑以提高颗粒硅比例的方式降低碳排。另外,各项材料的耗量减少也能直接带来碳排的下降。在今年因高昂硅料价格出现的的超预期薄片化现象也带来了减碳的辅助效益。第二为积极提效:组件在单位面积的输出功率增加,让同样的材料使用下输出更高的瓦数,整体的碳排放强度也就可下降。
 

光伏制造净零转型的挑战与行动

以目前经过第三方认证的材料看来,现阶段的低碳组件基本可做到每kW450公斤以下的碳排放,少数甚至做到低于400公斤,然而,现阶段光伏产业的挑战在于,在庞大产能带来更激烈的价格竞争中,厂商多共同选择能以低成本、高性价比大量生产的主流PERC技术与下一代主流TOPCon技术方能体现更强的竞争优势,在生产区域方面则选择中国主要光伏聚落、其次为东南亚,才能带来最低成本效益。

基于上述现况带来的挑战,企业实际能开始着手的减碳步骤有三:

一、实施碳盘查

在各国相继开始建立碳交易市场、推出碳税等制度的情况下,将有越来越多产业被纳入规范,碳费或碳税势必会成为企业必须付出的环境成本,企业应先进行碳盘查了解目前的排放情形,进而去估算衍生的碳成本,以利后续规划减碳行动。

二、技术路线部署与产能的汰旧换新

透过上述的碳盘查,能找出即使在产业激烈竞争的同时也能着手进行的减碳行动:在材料方面,随着薄片化的快速推展,目前的耗硅量已来到每瓦2.45公克左右,耗硅量越少,碳排放就控制的越低。然而,随着薄片化在今年已有长足进展,加上2023年硅料将重回价格下跌信道,未来PERC、TOPCon技术每瓦耗硅量的下降已然有限,因此有望能进一步进行薄片化的HJT未来将更能突显低碳市场的优势,若面向低碳市场的厂商对于HJT的技术路线布局与降本不容忽略。

无论是上述在研发上排定薄片化、未来技术路线的布局,或是在辅材用量及来源的调整,甚至是未来在淘汰旧产能时将碳排因素纳入考虑,都能透过碳盘查的结果决定供应链调整过程的优先级。

电池片碳排放比较
电池片碳排放比较
Source: InfoLink Consulting
 
三、生产区域分配

不仅在不同国家之间进行制造的碳排差异大,同国家之间的各省份因电力来源的不同也会出现不小差异,因此企业在进行新一轮扩产之前,也应将未来减碳因素纳入选址考虑。以硅料重点产区为例,下方A到F六家企业分别在内蒙古、江苏、青海、陕西、四川及新疆等地,若仅以每公斤多晶硅的耗电部分测算所产生的碳排放量,出现虽耗电量较高、但碳排放量却未高于竞争企业的情形,表示企业设厂区域若使用较干净的能源,整体碳排放系数将较有竞争优势。

每公斤多晶硅的碳排量与用电量(以企业及其所属区域划分)

每公斤多晶硅的碳排量与用电量
Source: InfoLink Consulting

低碳趋势是对光伏厂商的新潜在风险,但也是在同质化产品中提高亮点的新机会。市占率庞大的领头企业尤其需要从对气候变迁的防御转变为采取积极净零战略来转守为攻,有意识地在降本提效与碳排之间进行权衡。

在此大环境下,企业应从政策面了解各国碳制度的发展进程,进而锁定特定市场抢占商机,低碳的产品目前虽然市占较低,但明显有溢价空间,因此公司的策略上,应先预先规划要调整的材料、技术、进而进行旧产能的替换。低碳产品的战略发展规划将考验企业在未来数十年的基础竞争力。

2023 Q1 全球锂电池供应链与发展趋势报告

强化供应链管理,以精准分析数据驱动企业策略! ◆ 全球锂电池市场概况 ◆ 锂电池市场供需分析 ◆ 锂电池上游材料分析 ◆ 锂电池价格预测 ◆ 锂电池产业链及主要企业 ◆ 电池技术趋势分析

Learn more
2023 Q1 全球锂电池供应链与发展趋势报告

关键字搜寻

Category
Author Corrine Lin
Updated December 09, 2022

Keeping global warming under 1.5 degrees Celsius and climate fund are still hot topics at the COP27 UN Climate Change Conference that ended in November. Industrial restructuring to address climate change will come with a new wave of low-carbon asset management and investment, while strong demand for renewables will drive capacity expansion across the solar supply chain. Despite emergence of modules featuring low carbon footprint in solar exhibitions, realistically, most manufacturers have yet to evaluate and develop measures for low-carbon transition when ramping up capacity.

On the demand side, skyrocketing energy prices caused by Russia-Ukraine conflict accelerates the EU’s renewables deployment, leading to an increase in the share of EU of global solar demand. Meanwhile, the EU will start trial run the Carbon Border Adjustment Mechanism (CBAM) from 2023 and implement the scheme in 2027. Although the CBAM is initially designed for carbon intensive industries, more industries are expected to be covered, including the solar industry, whose electricity consumption is high. Other regions also introduced similar measures, such as France, which applies the low-carbon regulations on modules, requiring an official carbon footprint assessment of all modules to be eligible for public tender, with a carbon footprint limit of 750 kg CO2/kW. Moreover, the French Energy Regulatory Commission (CRE) requires rooftop projects with size ranging from 100 kW to 500 kW to use low-carbon modules and solar projects selected in the CRE4 tenders must have a carbon assessment of carbon footprint less than 550 kg CO2/kW. The South Korean government also launched a Carbon Footprint Assessment standard to classify modules into three grades depending on the carbo emissions, prioritizing modules with low carbon footprint for incentives and tenders. Against these backdrops, demand for low-carbon modules will increase in Asia.

Overall, impact of the CBAM is enhanced as solar demand from the EU increases. The redistribution of advantages among solar companies after carbon tax should be heeded. Also, how to transit to a low-carbon economy and stand out in the competition amid huge existing capacity and continued capital inflow is a challenge facing companies.


Market share of global solar demand
 

Routes to solar supply chain decarbonization

Looking into the carbon footprint embedded in modules, different calculation conditions and product standards can lead to a difference in actual values. However, polysilicon is the major source of emissions, contributing to nearly half of total emissions of modules. Followed by the ingot segment that has high electricity consumption, glass, and BOM such as EVA.

Distribution of carbon emissions embedded in modules Kg CO2/kg


Businesses looking to cut emissions from modules can take two actions – improving the use of materials and driving up module efficiency. Based on the public information, granular silicon enjoys advantage over silicon rod in terms of carbon emissions, and so manufacturers can reduce emissions by raising the proportion of granular silicon use. In addition, lowering consumption of materials can bring direct emissions reduction. This year’s significant progress in wafer thinning due to high polysilicon prices also helps cut emissions. In terms of efficiency, increases in power output of module surface per unit can lead to higher wattage in the condition of using the same materials, thereby reducing the overall carbon emissions.
 

Challenges and actions for securing net-zero transition

Based on the third-party certified materials, today’s low-carbon modules can bring carbon emissions down below 450kg per kW; a few can reach below 400kg per kW. However, the biggest challenge is that manufacturers mostly choose PERC and next-generation TOPCon technologies to gain advantages over costs and price performance amid intensive price competition. In terms of manufacturing site selection, China is the most favored among manufacturers, followed by Southeast Asia.

To tackle these challenges, businesses can start emissions reduction by taking three steps:

Carbon footprint verification

Following the establishment of carbon markets and introduction of carbon tax worldwide, more and more industries will be covered by carbon regulations, making carbon price or carbon tax the environmental cost businesses must pay for. Companies should start counting emissions embedded in their activities and then calculate the derived carbon costs for developing a carbon reduction action plan.

Paving way for the new and replacing the old

Collecting data of carbon footprint can help identify workable actions. As wafers are thinned down aggressively, the consumption of silicon has come in at 2.45g per wattage. The lower the silicon consumption, the lower the emissions. Thinner wafers, coupled with price downward trend in polysilicon expected in 2023, and limited reduction in silicon consumption brought by PERC and TOPCon technology in the future, HJT, with low-temperature, shorter process flow and could be thinned down further, may stand out in the market pursuing low carbon emissions. This means that manufacturers that seek to secure a place amid this trend should not overlook the development and cost reduction of HJT technology.

Through measuring and reporting on carbon footprint, companies can decide which step should be prioritized to achieve supply chain decarbonization, may it be the inclusion of wafer thinning in R&D, the layout of low-carbon technology route, the adjustment of BOM usage and sources, or even the elimination of production lines with higher emissions in the future.

Comparison of carbon footprint embedded in cells
Comparison of carbon footprint embedded in cells

 

Distribution of manufacturing sites

Carbon emissions from manufacturing vary greatly not only between countries, but also between provinces in the same country due to difference source of electricity. Thus, businesses should consider carbon factors when selecting a location for capacity expansion. Taking polysilicon manufacturing as an example, the six (A-F) manufacturers are based in Inner Mongolia, Jiangsu, Sichuan, Qinghai, Shaanxi, and Xinjiang. If we measure the carbon emissions generated by electricity consumption per kilogram of polysilicon, it appears that despite higher electricity consumption, the carbon emissions are lower than those of competitors. This means that if a facility uses clean source of energy, its overall carbon emission factor would be more competitive.

Carbon emissions and electricity consumption of polysilicon per kg
(by company and region)

Carbon emissions and electricity consumption of polysilicon per kg (by company and region)

Low-carbon trends post potential risks for solar manufacturers, but also bring opportunities for product differentiation. Leading companies with a large market share need to shift from defending against climate change to adopting a proactive net-zero strategy, consciously weighing cost reduction and efficiency improvement against carbon emissions. In such an environment, businesses should understand the carbon policy in each country to target specific markets and secure business opportunities. Although low-carbon products account for a lower market share now, such products have a room for premium. Therefore, companies should consider adjustment to materials and technology first, and then replace older production lines. Carbon strategy will determine a company’s competitiveness in the decade to come.

Global Lithium-ion Battery Supply Chain & Trend Report 2023 Q1

Strengthen your supply chain management and drive your business’ strategies with data insights! ◆ Global lithium-ion battery market overview ◆ Lithium-ion battery supply and demand analysis ◆ Lithium-ion battery upstream materials analysis ◆ Lithium-ion battery price forecast ◆ Lithium-ion industrial chain and major businesses ◆ Cell technology trends

Learn more
Global Lithium-ion Battery Supply Chain & Trend Report 2023 Q1

Keywords search