类别
作者 InfoLink
更新日期 September 08, 2023

在离岸风电的产业政策中,开发商与政府对本土化需求(Local Content Requirements, LCR)的观点往往有所分歧。政府认为,促成再生能源成长提供的趸购费率是一笔不斐的支出,其可以为供应链带来韧性,分散风险;但如果不能提供初生产业(Infant industry,又称幼稚产业)发展机会以创造工作机会,则难以获得公众的支持。而开发商最常援引的论点是国家间的比较利益(comparative advantage)会决定资源的最佳配置,LCR则会扭曲市场带来无效率导致成本上升,因此LCR的规范是越少越好。我们能否在两种截然不同的观点中找到平衡点? 

230908_InfoLink_loacalizing Taiwan's offshore wind sector_cn_1

LCR短期效益与争议-就业机会与韧性vs. 成本与垄断

政府之所以认为LCR有其必要性,一方面是能带来就业机会,为潜力场址的趸购费率提供合理性,另一方面是因为离岸风电在未来将成为台湾电力供给的支柱,如果能透过LCR确保供应链的韧性,就能降低外在冲击中断风场建设的可能性,如乌俄战争导致供应链中断与运费飙涨。因此即使LCR会导致成本上升、乌俄战争仅为突发事件,但站在能源安全的角度上,牺牲部分效率换取供应链韧性是有必要的。

开发商理解政府考量,但他们担忧LCR所带来的成本上升,最终是否会导致风场建设无法进行,虽然部分项目已具备成本竞争力,但当前船舶与资金成本高涨让开发商得强化成本控管。再者,台湾的市场规模使得部分LCR项目可能是「自然独占」,开发商担忧必选项目若有垄断问题,厂商得以坐地起价,或者是缺乏备案,届时若垄断厂商无法如期交货,也会导致风场延宕,而最终承受高昂电价与风场无法如期供电的也将是台湾的购电方。

InfoLink认为,新进厂商短期内成本不具竞争力是不可避免的,撇除寡占问题,新进厂商本来就需要一定的时间学习以及摊提设备成本,因此单方面归咎新进厂商竞争力不足并不公允,特别是离岸风电的高进入障碍更拉长了厂商学习的时间,待厂商成长到有能力进入国际市场,将能促成竞争、加速离岸风电度电平价。

但若是开发商短期的风场已无力完成建设,供应链也将失去成长的机会,因此重点在于避免短期的成本膨胀到超出开发商的承受范围,政府除了可以考虑透过提供低利率贷款或是租税补贴协助健全风场财务外,制造厂商的垄断问题必须解决,单一项目若自然独占或寡占,产业因而缺乏竞争压力,最终也会导致LCR的失败,或许可以透过以下两种方式促成跨产业的竞争:

  • 改为要求一定比例资本支出来自本土供应链1:这是在离岸风电本土化规则比较:以台湾、日本、南韩与美国为例文章中提及美国离岸风电本土化的做法,要求开发商采购一定比例的本土设备,优点是由市场机制决定最适的项目,缺点是政府难以将资源引导到特定项目,且资本支出的判定上,政府需耗费较多的行政资源。
  • 取消必做项目,再依照投资金额调整加分:这与前一项做法有些类似,但较接近当前的规则,可以让已经投入鉅额投资的厂商获得保障,避免中断政策连续性,政府也可以针对尚未成熟的产业分数再进一步调整,缺点之一在于有些投资是高度资产专用性的,如叶片与机舱组装,有的则否,如配电盘、电缆,如何界定投资额会是一大难点。


LCR中长期效益与争议-成功率与贸易壁垒

以中长期来看,LCR对成本并非仅带来负面效果,若LCR能够让厂商具国际竞争力,开发商也可以从中受益。一是免去长途运输节省运费,特别如轮毂铸件或叶片这类运输成本高或运输时易损坏的零件,且能大幅缩短维运等待零部件的时间,如台风不幸损坏多座风机叶片,从欧洲运来台湾可能需要一个月以上,或近期西门子陆域风机的涡轮机寿命不如预期,需要提前更换,虽然离岸风机未有相同状况,但值得借镜;其次,LCR若成功在台湾产生群聚效应,带来的外溢效果也有利于提升产业整体的竞争力与创新;最后,开发商有更多管道与供应链接触,减少在采购及维运期与风机厂商资讯不对称所需付出的溢价。但以上的好处都是建立在LCR能够成功的前提下,而且中长期来看,市场若采用LCR的方式保护国内产业,也会让其他市场想建立贸易壁垒,影响国际贸易的进行,从而使整体福祉损失与市场扭曲更为严重。

InfoLink认为中长期来看,重点在于让LCR能够成功。LCR想成功,除了严格执行游戏规则,确保资源有确实流向本土产业链外,根据联合国国际贸易和可持续发展中心在2013年的研究2,以下特点可以增加LCR创造价值的可能性,但非充分条件。分别是:有稳定且足够的市场规模、挑选高「做中学习」(learning by doing)的潜力产业、避免过高要求比例3、提供财务支持、建立退场机制,台湾前四项都有对应政策,但退场机制尚未有明确规范。

230908_InfoLink_loacalizing Taiwan's offshore wind sector_cn_2

退场机制攸关LCR能否成功,LCR的初衷是让初生产业有茁壮的机会,而非永无止境的保护国内产业,越早制定退场机制有利于厂商的长期规画;另一方面,退场机制代表我们并非要永久保护国内产业,仅是提供发展的空间,从而降低他国向WTO提起诉讼的可能。最后,这也是LCR的一个停损点,若台湾厂商真的不具备竞争力,持续的保护等同于用采购绿电的企业利润去补贴该项目的厂商。

综上所述,之所以各方在LCR上难以达成共识,是因为政府与开发商对短中长期的权重不同,以及LCR中长期能带来的效益不确定性太高。建议政府可考虑调整竞标制度、建立退场机制强化竞争,降低LCR短期的成本与对资源的扭曲、增加成功机率并加速中长期效益的到来,开发商则可重新评估LCR产生的外部以及中长期效益。



1 工商时报的社论也提及此作法并更完整论述优点
2 Kuntze, J. C., & Moerenhout, T. (2012). Local Content Requirements and the Renewable Energy Industry-A Good Match? 
3 根据Francisco Veloso. 2001. “Local content requirements and industrial development: Economic analysis and cost modeling of the automotive supply chain”的研究,合适的本土化比例与资本的机会成本、市场的规模有关。

Category
Author InfoLink
Updated September 08, 2023

Developers in the offshore wind industry and governments do not always agree on the value of the Local Content Requirements (LCRs), which are rules set by governments that stipulate a certain portion of goods or services in a particular industry must be produced or sourced locally. From governments’ perspectives, feed-in tariffs (FITs) facilitate the development of the renewable energy sector while incurring considerable expenditure. Such a mechanism enables the supply chain to strengthen resilience and diversify risks, but gaining public support might be challenging if it fails to create more jobs and opportunities for infant industries like renewable energy. On the other hand, developers believe that when comparative advantages between countries determine the optimal allocation of resources, LCRs can lead to market distortion, resulting in inefficiencies and cost increases, hence the preference for more relaxed LCRs. Under these two distinct perspectives, how do we find a balance?

230908_InfoLink_loacalizing Taiwan's offshore wind sector_en_1
 

Short-term benefits and challenges: Job opportunities and resilience vs. costs and monopolies

The Taiwanese government sees the necessity of LCRs for two reasons: firstly, the policy helps create job opportunities and rationalize FITs for potential development sites; secondly, LCRs is believed to help secure supply chain resilience, preventing disruptions in wind farm construction due to external shocks, such as supply chain disruption and soaring freight rates caused by the Russia-Ukraine war. From an energy security standpoint, even though LCRs may lead to cost increases and events like the Russo-Ukrainian War are unforeseen circumstances, it is necessary to trade off some efficiency for supply chain resilience.

While developers understand the government's considerations, they are concerned about the rising costs brought about by LCRs that could ultimately hinder wind farm construction. Despite the cost advantages of some items, the surge in shipping and capital costs necessitates developers to strengthen cost management. Furthermore, Taiwan's market size has led some LCR items to become natural monopolies. Developers are concerned that the monopoly of mandatory LCR items may lead to price gouging or an inability for wind farm construction to be completed as scheduled in the absence of alternatives. Ultimately, electricity consumers in Taiwan will bear the brunt of high electricity prices and delayed wind power supply.

InfoLink believes that it is inevitable that newcomers will not be cost-competitive in the short term. Excluding the issue of oligopoly, newcomers require time to learn and amortize equipment costs. Therefore, it is unfair to attribute the lack of competitiveness to the newcomers, especially considering the high barriers to entry in the offshore wind sector, which extend learning time. It is expected that these manufacturers can facilitate competition and accelerate grid parity as they mature and enter the international market. 

However, if a developer is unable to complete the construction of a wind farm in the short term, the supply chain will lose the opportunity to grow. Therefore, the key lies in preventing short-term costs from rising beyond the reach of developers. To achieve this, the government could consider providing low-interest loans or tax subsidies to help stabilize the financial situation of wind farms, while the issue of monopolies among manufacturers must be addressed, as both natural monopolies and oligopolies lead to an uncompetitive industry, thus resulting in the failure of LCRs. Competition across industries can be promoted through the following two approaches:

  • Requiring a certain proportion of local capital expenditure1
    This is the practice of localization of offshore wind power in the U.S. as discussed in the article Comparison of local content requirements for offshore wind power: Case studies from Taiwan, Japan, South Korea, and the United States, which requires developers to purchase a certain proportion of locally manufactured equipment. The advantage lies in allowing market mechanisms to determine the most suitable items, while the disadvantage is the challenge for governments to allocate resources to specific items and the increased administrative resources in determining capital expenditure.
  • Cancelling mandatory items and providing bonus points based on investment amount: 
    This approach shares some similarities with the previous one, but is closer to the current regulations. It allows manufacturers that have already made substantial investments to receive protection, ensuring policy continuity. In addition, governments can adjust scoring for industries that are still in the early stages of development. However, defining the level of investment amount can be a major challenge due to varying degrees of asset specificity. For example, blade and nacelle assembly are highly asset-specific, while other assets such as distribution panels and cables are not.

Medium- and long-term benefits and challenges: Success rate and trade barriers

In the medium to long term, LCRs do not only bring negative effects on costs, but can also benefit developers by making them more competitive internationally. One benefit is the elimination of long-distance transportation costs, especially for parts like wheel hubs or blades that incur high transportation costs or are prone to damage during transit, while also significantly shortens the lead time for parts to be shipped. For example, if a typhoon damages the blades of wind turbines, it may take more than a month to transport them from Europe to Taiwan. Another example is the situation where Siemens’ onshore wind turbines needed to be replaced ahead of schedule due to a shorter-than-expected lifespan – something that is worth noting even though offshore wind turbines have yet to encounter the same issue so far. Secondly, if LCRs can successfully create a clustering effect in Taiwan, the resulting spillover effects would also be beneficial in enhancing the overall competitiveness and innovation of the industry. Lastly, developers would have more access to the supply chain and would be able to minimize the premiums they would have to pay for information asymmetry with wind turbine manufacturers during the procurement and maintenance periods. These benefits are contingent upon the successful implementation of LCRs. In the medium to long term, the adoption of LCRs to protect domestic industries may lead to trade barriers in other markets, affecting the progress of international trade, resulting in greater overall benefit losses, and exacerbating market distortions.

For the medium and long term, InfoLink believes that the key lies in ensuring the effective implementation of LCRs and guaranteeing the proper allocation of resources to local supply chains. According to a 2013 study2 by the International Trade Centre under the United Nations Sustainable Development Group, the following factors can increase the likelihood of LCR's value creation: having a stable and adequate market size, selecting potential industries with a "learning by doing" capability, avoiding excessive proportion of requirements3, providing financial support, and establishing exit mechanisms. Taiwan has corresponding policies for the first four points, but lacks clear regulations for the exit mechanism.

230908_InfoLink_loacalizing Taiwan's offshore wind sector_en_2

Exit mechanisms are crucial for the success of LCRs. The original intention of LCRs is to provide nascent industries with an opportunity to thrive, rather than infinite protection of domestic industries. Establishing an exit mechanism earlier is advantageous for companies' long-term planning. On the other hand, exit mechanisms offer room for development without permanently protecting domestic industries, thus reducing the likelihood of other countries filing complaints with the WTO. Finally, exit mechanisms serve as a stop-loss point for LCRs. If Taiwanese companies lack competitiveness, continued protection means subsidizing manufacturers with profits of green energy purchases by companies.

Overall, the difficulty in reaching a consensus on LCRs arises from different weight placed by the government and developers for the short, medium, and long term, as well as the high level of uncertainty regarding the benefits that LCRs can bring in the medium to long term. It is suggested that the government consider adjusting the bidding system and establishing exit mechanisms to promote competition, thereby reducing the short-term costs and distortions in resource allocation of LCRs, increasing the chances of success, and expediting the arrival of medium to long-term benefits. Developers can also reassess the external and medium to long-term benefits generated by LCRs.


1 The editorial in Commercial Times provides a more comprehensive discussion of the advantages of this approach.
2 Kuntze, J. C., & Moerenhout, T. (2012). Local Content Requirements and the Renewable Energy Industry-A Good Match? 
3 According to the study by Francisco Veloso titled "Local content requirements and industrial development: Economic analysis and cost modeling of the automotive supply chain" (2001), the appropriate level of localization is related to the opportunity cost of capital and the market size.